What is the difference between VG and PG E-liquid?

The most common question asked in e-cig forums all over the web is “What is the difference between VG and PG E-liquid?”. As a rookie to vaping there are many questions, but this is most important if you really want to enjoy every puff to its fullest.

I know when I first started vaping I asked this question on many forums. So I decided to put this post together to explain the difference, to the best of my knowledge, between VG and PG juice mixes.

Before we get to started I would like to state that I am by no means an expert in this area, just a very enthusiastic vaper who has done hi research, it is also important to note that in terms of juice this is a personal preference in the end.

The Science

VG short for Vegetable glycerin is also known as vegetable glycerol. It is a carbohydrate that is usually derived from plant oils. It is used as a sweetener and as an ingredient in a number of cosmetic products. Vegetable glycerin is also used in place of alcohol to extract botanicals.

Food-grade vegetable glycerin is 99.7% pure, with the remaining 0.3% being water. It has a sweet taste, but is metabolized differently than sugar and does not raise blood sugar levels. Glycerin is used in foods marketed as being low in carbohydrates to keep them sweet and moist. It also does not contribute to bacterial tooth decay.

- source: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-vegetable-glycerin.htm

PG short for Propylene glycol is a chemical made by reaction of propylene oxide with water. For more than five decades propylene glycol has had an unsurpassed reputation for safe use in a wide range of consumer products, including foodstuffs, animal feed, cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, as well as industrial applications.

Propylene glycol is typically produced in two grades: technical or industrial grade, and USP/EP grade. The latter designates the requirements for the US Pharmacopiea and the European Pharmacopoeia, but this grade is also the grade for use in food, feed and personal care applications.

- source: http://www.propylene-glycol.com you can also find more information on wikipedia.

VG vs. PG e-juice

There are two main types of e-liquid or e-juice, VG and PG. E-juice can be a mixture of the two, usually a 70/30 split, 70% PG and 30% VG or it can be straight VG or PG with added flavor. However, many e-juice vendors will let you choose the split level and a lot vapers prefer to use a 50/50, this gives you good throat hit with lots of vapor and a strong flavor.

A lot of vapers choose to not use PG due to evidence of irritation. 2% of the population is allergic to PG. Allergy levels very but are very rarely serious, common side effects are usually rashes, headaches, or throat irritation.

My first bottle of e-juice was a 70/30 split with 25mg of nicotine with a tobacco flavor (can’t remember the name or where I got I got). I really enjoyed the taste and I did get lots of vapor. Recently I have switched to straight VG based e-juice. I get tons of vapor and good throat hit with certain flavors. Currently I’m vaping Peach from Evapers.com it’s tasty, but the flavor does not come through as much as it does with PG. However, I don’t mind because the VG cuts the sweetness.

Here’s the breakdown:

VG:

  • Produces more vapor
  • Less allergenic
  • Juice not as sweet
  • Less flavor
  • Thick liquid

PG:

  • Produces less vapor
  • Triggers allergies
  • Sweeter juices
  • Big flavor
  • Thinner liquid

It’s really a personal choice. I recommend trying a few different mixtures and flavors to see what you like. A lot of vapers recommend a 50/50 split for the best of both worlds. You can also DIY (Do It Yourself)! A lot vapers make their own e-juice this way you can play with the mixtures to get just the way you want. I’m hoping to do this myself soon, and when I do I will post about.

So, as you can see the choice is yours, I hope you learned something from post and if you have anything else to offer to discussion hit me up in the comments below.

Some of my favorite e-juice vendors
Evapers.com
Forevervapor.com
MadVapes.com
VaporBomb.com
HappyVapes.com

About digibomb

I'm a WordPress designer, developer, and blogger, social addict, techy, father, and published author from Montreal, Canada.

5 comments

  1. mark

    hi thanks for the info but which one gives the most smoke

  2. Wendy

    Hey Thx for the info and the links. I was wondering if you knew anything about herbal e-juices. I’ve been hearing about Valerian root and chamomile juices and some with vitamins.

  3. Pingback: PG/VG – What’s The Story? « VapeWise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 640 other followers

